Strike One

Well, phooey. So there I was, two thirds of the way through a bowl of raisin bran yesterday morning, when I couldn’t swallow. Not that “hmmm, I wonder if something is going on” kind of discomfort. This was the real thing. The whole enchilada, so to speak. Serious pain. Food wouldn’t go down, but I didn’t want to jump up and spit it out, either. Even felt an incipient gurgle,  sure sign that the drain is clogged. Bleh.

Well, the raisin bran did get down and the rest of breakfast was mercifully uneventful, though my chest was kind of sore for the rest of the day.

What am I going to do? Nothing for now, I think. Chances are, it’s not a one-off thing, which means it will likely be back before long. So I’m thinking of this only as strike one, but documenting it here so that I can’t brush it off. Denial’s a particular specialty of mine. Strike three, and it’s time to make a move.

About eosgirl

Trying to stop worrying and love my eosinophilic gastrointestinal disease.
This entry was posted in Case of EosGirl and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Strike One

  1. Kim says:

    Thank you for blogging and sharing information about EE. Especially since my son, who has the EE, is 3 1/2 and cannot express how it affects him like this blog entry does. Because of you and others that have shared personal experiences, I have found some answers and have found it therapeutic to research about EE online. I decided to write my own blog about my experiences with my son who has EE. If you want to link it on our site, I can reciprocate too!
    http://ahardjob.blogspot.com/

  2. eosgirl says:

    I’m glad the blog has been helpful to you, even though I haven’t had the chance to keep it up lately as I would have liked. I’ve added your blog to the “Living With” links at the right. I think parenting a child with EE (or being the child) is much more difficult than anything I’ve had to experience with the disease. Good luck to you and your son on this journey.

  3. Pingback: Phooey | EosinophilGirl

Leave a Reply

