Phooey

Roller coaster photoO.K., maybe the image is a little more dramatic than the reality. But what a disappointment, nonetheless.

A couple of months on 2 mg of budesonide twice a day (bid, as is starting to work its way into my vocabulary). Fabulous! A few more months on 1 mg bid and, apart from one alarming incident, it was totally and encouragingly smooth sailing.

But less than a month at just a single daily dose of 1 mg? Lump in the throat, a touch of nausea, and several times in just those few weeks. Phooey!

So, as of yesterday, we’re bumping back up to the previous dose for a while to see if we can get things under control, which I’m pretty sure will be the case. Call it intuition.

I’m disappointed, but far less put out than I would have imagined when I embarked on my EE journey about a year ago. At that point, I was sure I would do whatever I could to manage it without meds.

Partly, I’m a woman getting to an age where PPIs and steroids make me start freaking out about my bones. I also like to get to the root of things, when I can. And I was kind of looking forward to the challenge of undertaking something as tough as a mega-elimination diet. (No, really, ask my husband. I’m not one to do anything the easy way.)

The truth, though, is that I’m still so worn out from Dad’s death in December and so eager to have just a little bit of normal life for a while that if an extra milligram of steroids is what will buy it for me, then, “Bring on the meds,” I say. And so, we are.

About eosgirl

Trying to stop worrying and love my eosinophilic gastrointestinal disease.
This entry was posted in Budesonide, Case of EosGirl and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Phooey

  1. eosinophile says:

    Vitamin D and magnesium are good ways to help your bones out. Seizure meds have the same effects on bones, so my son gets the D and mag and blood tests to make sure the D is at a high enough level. Also vitamin K.

  2. eosgirl says:

    Oh, good reminder. Still waiting for some vitamin D labs. Better call and see what’s up.

Leave a Reply

