Bull by the Horns (No Bull!)

Everything is better in French!

First it was coffee. Then it was tea. Then it was herbal tea, then fruit juice, then fruit. By the time a month or so had passed, it was pretty much everything that seemed to set the back of my throat on fire.

I was hoarse. I coughed. I pounded Tums. I had the most awful bitter taste in my mouth, like I was going around maybe licking wax off the vegetables at the supermarket or chomping aspirin tablets.

I dodged a bit by paying a trip to my family doctor for a morale boost and to see if maybe, just maybe, something else could possibly be going on. And then I gave in and called Dr. Eos this week.

Don’t get me wrong. I enjoy talking to Dr. Eos. He’s friendly and super smart and listens attentively. But I was pretty sure he was going to say, “Sounds like GERD,” a diagnosis that I refuse to pile on top of the EGIDs. Refuse!

Sometimes taking the bull by the horns has its merits, though. Surprisingly, maybe it isn’t GERD. Maybe, he said, it’s a little yeast from the steroids, or a few new strictures popping up despite the steroids. Hope springs eternal. (Which my husband and I always thought sounded like the name of a rest home for optimists.)

We’ll know for sure in two weeks after the inevitable scope. At this point, in one of those wacky conundrums of a chronic condition, I’m practically looking forward to it. Scopes I know how to deal with.

Of course, irony of ironies, since making that phone call a few days ago, I’m feeling a heck of a lot better, except that I’m still petrified by the idea of drinking tea.

So, what will it be?

  1. The ugly GERD monster
  2. A complication of the EG
  3. A side effect
  4. Something else entirely
  5. Just “one of those things”

Stay tuned for more. In the meantime, it’s good to be back.

About eosgirl

Trying to stop worrying and love my eosinophilic gastrointestinal disease.
This entry was posted in Case of EosGirl, Reflections and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bull by the Horns (No Bull!)

  1. Kelly says:

    I’m a fellow EG sufferer and have been following your blog. Am interested in what your current regimen is and how you keep up with personal & professional life while dealing with this condition?
    I’ve taken the budesonide/Splenda slurry with suboptimal response. Prednisone is the only thing that works, but I try to limit the dose to minimize side effects. This disease is a real character builder! 😉
    Good luck with your endoscopy!
    -Kelly

  2. eosgirl says:

    Hi, Kelly, thanks for your note. It’s good to hear from another adult EG person! I’ll try to post a bit more soon about dealing with stuff. I feel really fortunate in that my symptoms are pretty manageable–esp. compared to when I was a teenager. I’ve been doing well on budesonide. The slurry made me gag, so now my local compounding pharmacist mixes it up into a nice goopy mint-flavored suspension for me. Until the latest flare of whatever-it-is, that’s been working great for me for over a year. Hang in there. I appreciate the good wishes for the scope!

  3. Pingback: Me and My EGID | EosinophilGirl

  4. Pingback: Me and My EGID (Part 2): Luck and Denial | EosinophilGirl

  5. Pingback: Day 9 | EosinophilGirl

  6. Pingback: Reach Out… | EosinophilGirl

Leave a Reply

