Day 9

It appears that the answer is number 3.

Earlier this month, I wondered what could be causing those reflux-y symptoms that had made such a sudden appearance:

So, what will it be?

  1. The ugly GERD monster
  2. A complication of the EG
  3. A side effect
  4. Something else entirely
  5. Just “one of those things”

One scope and nine days of a ten-day course of Nystatin now complete, the winner seems to be #3, “A side effect.”

The scope suggested and labs confirmed esophageal candida, or yeast, a common companion to use of the budesonide. With the course of anti-fungals almost complete, I’m feeling quite a bit better. Not entirely, though. I’d put it at about 85%. But close to 100% relief that it’s probably not anything more serious.

So, my new year will start with a conversation with Dr. Eos to figure out what to do about that other 15% and also to see what my eos count is once the biopsies are back.

Also, a plunge into anti-yeast home remedies to see if I can prevent a recurrence. Cloves and garlic are two that I’ve heard about. I’ve also been toying with the idea of giving up wheat for a month or so to see how that makes me feel in other ways; perhaps this will be the impetus that I finally need. Though that kind of tosses garlic bread out the window, alas. Other ideas?

About eosgirl

Trying to stop worrying and love my eosinophilic gastrointestinal disease.
This entry was posted in Budesonide, Case of EosGirl, Endoscopy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 9

  1. eosinophile says:

    Saccharomyces boulardii, apple cider vinegar, kombucha fermented tea, some I have heard of. This is why my child is not on swallowed steroids. Some have sworn by the SCD or GAPS diet, although I know you are steroids so you don’t have to restrict food… Hope the candida stays away.

  2. eosgirl says:

    Thanks for reading, Eosinophile, and for the suggestions. I think there are lots of good reasons for a child not to take steroids, if at all avoidable! How is everything going?

Leave a Reply

