Day 2: Indian-Andean

Day two wrapped up with an Indian-spiced veggie stew plopped atop quinoa. Hence, my “Indean-Andean” dinner.

The “Indian Eggplant and Potato Stew with Chickpeas” comes from one of my all-time favorite cookbooks, Vegetables Every Day, by Jack Bishop. If you love vegetables, or are trying to get more of them into your life, then you want this book. We picked it up a few years ago when we joined a CSA and had greens and beans coming out of our ears.

Somebody has been kind enough to post the recipe on a Cooking Light forum, so I won’t repeat (it’s the one from tbb113). Will just note that I added some baby spinach at the end of the cooking time,  subbed dried mint for the fresh, and served with a generous squeeze of lime juice.

Here’s the day’s meal log for those keeping track:

Breakfast: An orange; Cream of buckwheat with LOTS of brown sugar and raisins; peach rooibos tea; grape juice. Sound familiar? I’m thinking the possible indigestion from yesterday is more likely my yeasty friends.

Lunch & snacks:   Tossed salad with salmon left from yesterday (dressing: maple vinegar, olive oil, lime juice); Cherries; a tiny bit of lentils and fennel that I managed to wrest away from my 9-year-old; dried fruit; freeze-dried peaches; herbal iced tea; chocolate.

Dinner    Veggie stew and quinoa; green beans (from the garden!); sliced mangoes; chocolate. I can see that I’m gong to need to be unapologetic about the chocolate!

Off now to pore over The Allergy-Free Cook Bakes Bread and see if it has anything for me, or that can be made to be for me.

What is EosGirl avoiding? Here’s the latest on my diet.

About eosgirl

Trying to stop worrying and love my eosinophilic gastrointestinal disease.
This entry was posted in Allergies, Case of EosGirl, Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

