Day 3

..in which I visit a nutritionist, buy a truckload of unusual baking ingredients, experiment on banana muffins, and snap at my family.

It’s been a kind of long day. Not bad-long, just long, and I’m tired.

This afternoon, I checked in with a nutritionist. Not sure that she told me anything I didn’t know, but she was very kind, promised to do some research on seeds, and was overall encouraging that I won’t starve. You can’t have too many people pulling for you!

The meeting was so encouraging that I tore right out to Whole Foods and let loose in the crazy baking aisle. See? Here is the kitchen shelf that is now home to amaranth and teff flour, guar gum, quinoa flakes, and all manner of novelties. Plus chocolate.

Photo of kitchen shelf

Shelf newly dedicated to weird grains, etc.

Perhaps it’s the beguiling promise of such bounty that made the banana muffins especially disappointing. Some day, I hope to have recipes to share. But not this one. A little too chewy and, well, experimental.

And perhaps it’s the disappointment that led me to light into my husband and son when they said, “Well, all the muffins need are some butter and eggs.” We’re all learning.

Today’s menu:

Breakfast: Orange; cream of buckwheat w/ br. sugar, raisins, and some banana for a change; black tea (mixin’ it up a bit!); grape juice

Lunch and snacks: Freeze-dried peaches; leftover veg stew and quinoa from dinner yesterday; peach; cherries; chocolate, of course.

Dinner: Big ol’ salad; one experimental banana muffin; chocolate (moving on from Equal Exchange to Escazù, an amazing local company that seems to be soy-free). Probably another piece of fruit to be named later.

The nutritionist did recommend MyFitnessPal for a food diary–especially to be sure there’s enough protein going in–but I’m not sure it’s going to be very well adapted to my wacky diet (or to my neurotic online privacy preferences). Have you had experience with this product or another online tracker? Let me know in a comment.

What is EosGirl avoiding? Here’s the latest on my diet.

About eosgirl

Trying to stop worrying and love my eosinophilic gastrointestinal disease.
This entry was posted in Allergies, Case of EosGirl, Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

