Day 5: CRUNCH!

I was expecting to miss bagels. I was expecting to miss pasta. Also, soy ice cream, my primo crock pot chili, and my husband’s amazing pies.

What I was totally unprepared to miss was CRUNCH!

Apart from raw carrots, my diet this week has been remarkably devoid of texture. No almonds or wheat crackers, no cookies, no cereal out-of-hand. It’s not that my whole pre-diet diet consisted of snack foods; I just never noticed how snacks added crunch to the day. I miss crunch.

The solutions are out there, of course—puffed millet and amaranth, exotic flatbread and cracker recipes, roasted chickpeas.

However, not one of those things was in the food co-op last night when I was turning round and round in search of crunch. It was almost like my teeth were aching. Nothing in the cereal aisle, nothing in the cracker aisle, nothing in the Asian food section.

And then suddenly, there on the endcap, bathed in light (I’m not proud of this): Terra Chips, “a blend of sweet potatoes and carrots, expeller pressed canola oil, and/or safflower oil and/or sunflower oil.” How do you even get more crunch than chips?!

This weekend, I’ll hunt for something healthier. But for now, I’m taking those and/or’s and CRUNCH!

What is EosGirl avoiding? Here’s the latest on my diet.

About eosgirl

Trying to stop worrying and love my eosinophilic gastrointestinal disease.
This entry was posted in Allergies, Case of EosGirl, Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

