Day 7: Seven Lessons from Week One

A week! I’ve made it a full week! It feels  both like an accomplishment, and also like a grain of sand on a very sandy beach.

Since I’m still on a regular dose of budesonide along with the food elimination, it’s hard to say just what, if anything, is going on with the eos. That doesn’t mean I haven’t learned things this week, though. Here are the top seven lessons from the first seven days:

  1. I don’t much care for quinoa. There. I’ve said it.
  2. Crunchy and creamy are tough to replace. I expected breads and pasta to be the most intense cravings, but what I really, really want right now is a box of Wheat Thins and some coconut milk yogurt.
  3. What a blessing to live in an allergy-aware time and an allergy-aware place. The alternative baking ingredients and cereals section at Whole Foods alone is probably bigger than some stores. That’s not counting our awesome local food co-op. And I haven’t even been to Trader Joe’s yet. True, it’s not such a blessing for the bank account, but at least our kitchen is now amply stocked. If only I can figure out what to do with all this stuff!
  4. Allergy eating takes a heck of a lot of planning. Even though I’ve long written out and shopped for weekly dinner menus, we’re in a whole new league here. No more pasta as a fallback, no more “miscellaneous night,” no more “let’s just go out.”  It also means planning for lunches instead of choosing to pick something up on campus or throwing together a sandwich.
  5. My unwritten rule? If I want it and I can eat it, I eat it. This mostly applies to chocolate, the one treat food that’s not off limits, as long as it’s soy-free, nut-free, and dairy-free. Escazù and Equal Exchange have never tasted so good. But I’ve also been saying yes to most everything at the farmers market. And to all those mysterious baking ingredients (see #3).
  6. I’ve said it before, but I try to remind myself regularly that things could be a whole, whole lot harder. If you’re in one of those harder places, I know that I whine, and I’m sorry.
  7. The world has an awful lot of kind, helpful people in it. There’s my medical team, of course, and my hugely understanding husband and son, who have eagerly sampled quinoa banana blobs and sawdust carrot cookies for me, and who can totally fend for themselves when they need to. And then there’s the magic world of the Internet. Kelly, AtopicGirl, FoodAllergyBuzz, @adnek: you know who you are! A special thank you for your advice and encouragement. I feel very, very not alone, and that’s a very, very good thing.
About eosgirl

Trying to stop worrying and love my eosinophilic gastrointestinal disease.
This entry was posted in Allergies, Budesonide, Case of EosGirl, Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

