Day 13: PDAF Banana Muffins

Now we’re making progress.

Photo of banana muffins

These aren’t the very best muffins I’ve ever made, but they’re unquestionably the first edible ones I’ve made on this diet. Edible enough that my non-allergic son happily devoured his and said, “Yum.” Edible enough that I entertained no thought of hockey pucks while eating TWO of them. And they’re Pretty Darn Allergen Free. And they have chocolate chips.

The recipe, with a few small adaptations, comes from Karina, the Gluten Free Goddess. Her blog is one I’ll surely be returning to—partly for the lovely photos, but also because Karina seems very much to care what her food tastes like, and looks like, and feels like. No one who addresses her readers as “darlings” can be overly into deprivation!

Based on previous experimentation, pantry stockage, and current dietary restrictions, I tweaked Karina’s “Big Banana Muffin Recipe” as follows:

  • Used dark brown sugar instead of light (always better, in my book; don’t even keep light brown in the house);
  • Used flax seed in water for the egg replacer;
  • Used maple balsamic for the rice vinegar;
  • Used ½ cup sorghum + ½ cup teff flour;
  • Used guar gum instead of xanthan gum.

I also went ahead and made these as a dozen normal-sized muffins, because jumbo muffins have never really done it for me, even wheaty ones.

At long last, a muffin! Albeit one that still slightly retains the sawdust mouth feel that has plagued all of my PDAF baking experiments. Could it be the sorghum flour, perhaps? The healthy GF/allergy free baker at the farmer’s market this morning says she swears by buckwheat flour, so perhaps I’ll pick some up tomorrow for the next bit of wheat-free, dairy-free, soy-free, egg-free, nut-free, rice-free, corn-free alchemy.

In the meantime, I have no clue what to make for dinner. Any suggestions, anyone?

About eosgirl

Trying to stop worrying and love my eosinophilic gastrointestinal disease.
This entry was posted in Allergies, Case of EosGirl, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 13: PDAF Banana Muffins

  1. Kelly says:

    This looks so yummy that I just might try my hand at making some this weekend! I’ve been doing a lot of salads for dinner lately. For extra protein and fat, I add garbanzo beans, avocado, and roasted chicken. Top with homemade balsamic vinaigrette (http://www.chinesegrandma.com/2010/11/balsamic-vinaigrette/) et voila, c’est magnifique!

    • eosgirl says:

      Oh, let me know how yours turn out! Also if you can solve the sawdust problem…

      You could have had dinner with me tonight, Kelly–I wound up making a big ol’ salad topped with avocados and cannellini beans, among other things. Plus, a huge pot of chick peas simmering while I ate. You might like the maple vinaigrette recipe that I got from a family friend. Will try to post that one of these days.

      Two weeks in, and I’m stepping down the budesonide as of tonight. Big adventures! Hope you’re maybe feeling a bit better?

Leave a Reply

