Day 16: Slow Cooker Cinnamon Turkey — A PDAF Experiment

No, I didn’t set out to make cinnamon turkey. Cinnamon turkey is what happened on the way to doctoring a recipe for “Turkey Thighs in Barbecue Sauce” in order to make it Pretty Darn Allergen Free.

The original recipe featured ketchup and Worcestershire; both have ingredients on the current no-no list. It also used a half-teaspoon of cinnamon, which I upped to a full teaspoon because, why not, we love cinnamon.

I’m writing as though the outcome was awful. Actually, it wasn’t. In fact, Mr. Eos and Boy Scientist loved it, and I don’t think they were just trying to be kind.

For me, I’m not sure that I’d go out of my way to replicate cinnamon turkey, but I feel compelled to post it. It adds to the record of this time in my life when weird cooking is the norm, protein sources are limited, and I’m trying to keep turkey interesting, knowing that there’s potentially still such a long, long way to go.

You’ll find the recipe that this is based on in the Better Homes and Gardens Biggest Book of Slow Cooker Recipes. The Soy-Free Soy Sauce is in Chloe’s Kitchen. Sorry, but my librarian’s code of ethics won’t permit me to post somebody else’s copyrighted recipes here, even though all the cool kids are doing it.

Photograph of cinnamon turkey in dish

Slow Cooker Cinnamon Turkey is not a work of art, especially when it’s been reheated.

PDAF Slow Cooker Cinnamon Turkey

2 ½ – 3 lb. turkey thighs (I started with 2 bone-in thighs, then added an extra boned thigh for more meat)

1 ½ cups (1 can) crushed tomatoes (I’m sure tomato sauce would be fine, but I haven’t yet found one that doesn’t have citric acid, and at this point, I pretty much just assume that’s from corn)

3 Tbs. brown sugar

2 Tbs. white wine vinegar

3 Tbs. Chef Chloe’s Soy-Free Soy Sauce

1 tsp. cinnamon

Shake of red pepper flakes and/or cayenne

1 tsp. salt

  1. Put the turkey in the slow cooker.
  2. Combine all the remaining ingredients and pour over the turkey.
  3. Cover and cook on high for 6 hours. (That usually translates to about 12 hours on low.)
  4. Ta-da.

What is EosGirl avoiding? Here’s the latest on my diet.

About eosgirl

Trying to stop worrying and love my eosinophilic gastrointestinal disease.
This entry was posted in Allergies, Case of EosGirl, Food, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

