Day 19: Chocolate Bananocado Ice Cream, Take One

First of all, my husband loves me very, very much. Of this, I am quite sure.

Second, I share this recipe as a work in progress, and as a familial record of experimentation. I wouldn’t really recommend making it as is, though would gladly accept suggestions.

Third, despite any shortcomings, having something cold and creamy was a treat. It had never occurred to me that I might miss creamy, but it turns out that I do, and quite a lot.

Here’s the Pretty Darn Allergen Free recipe:

Bananocado Chocolate Ice Cream

Photograph of ice cream

Why I love Mr. Eos and Boy Scientist

3 frozen overripe bananas, cut into chunks

2 ripe avocados, chilled

½ c. cocoa powder

½ cup agave syrup

¼ tsp. vanilla

Dash of salt

  1. Puree the bananas and avocado in a food processor until smooth. Add the remaining ingredients and puree some more.
  2. Spoon into ice cream maker and let the ice cream maker do its thing.

And here’s what we’re trying next time:

  • Forget the banana. I love bananas. I love bananas and chocolate. I love frozen bananas with a chocolate shell. But there was something about the bananas in this mixture that was just a bit off. Perhaps they needed to be a bit over-riper? But I’m more inclined to try it without.
  • Forget the agave syrup. Simple syrup it is.
  • Maybe use melted chocolate instead of the cocoa, but that’s not for sure.

Mr. Eos doesn’t generally keep up with the blog, But, honey, if you’re reading: You rock! And Boy Scientist, too. XOXO

About eosgirl

Trying to stop worrying and love my eosinophilic gastrointestinal disease.
This entry was posted in Allergies, Case of EosGirl, Food, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 19: Chocolate Bananocado Ice Cream, Take One

  1. Kenda says:

    I have a Choco pudding recipe that uses way less avocado!! Maybe worth cutting that than banana first?! But WOW A+ effort though for Mr. EOS and Boy Scientist! How sweet!

  2. eosgirl says:

    They’re awesome guys. The elimination diet route just wouldn’t be possible without their support and ingenuity.

    Can you share your recipe, Kenda? We looked at about a dozen, and then the boys just had to wing it.

Leave a Reply

