Day 21: The Thrill of Ketchup, the Agony of Waffles

This has been a kitchen-intensive day. I was reminded last week just what a bad idea it is not to plan my meals. By the end of the week, I had to send Mr. Eos and Boy Scientist out for dinner while I went over to the co-op to see what kind of insta-food I could come up with. There wasn’t much.

So, I’m doing my best to avoid a repeat. Among today’s many cooking projects was ketchup to use later this week in a turkey loaf. Ketchup? Yes, you CAN make it yourself, which seems to be necessary in order to avoid corn syrup, cider or white (corn) vinegar, and citric acid. So far, I have yet to find a bottle of commercial ketchup without at least one of those ingredients.

Turns out that ketchup is really quite easy to make, and it comes out way tastier than the stuff from a bottle, regardless of whether you are partial to Heinz or to Hunt’s. After scanning half a dozen different recipes—some with canned tomatoes, some with fresh; some cooked, some not—I took the most appealing elements and put together my own version.

Photo of ketchup

Who knew it was so easy to make ketchup?

Pretty Darn Allergen Free Tomato Ketchup

1 1/2 c. tomato sauce (Pomì strained tomatoes have nothing but the tomato)

3 Tbs. brown sugar

1 clove garlic, minced or pressed

1 Tbs. minced shallot

3 Tbs. balsamic vinegar

1 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp. allspice

1/4 tsp. cinnamon

1/4 tsp. mustard powder

1/4 tsp. paprika

Mix everything in a small saucepan. Simmer uncovered for about 45 minutes, until the mixture gets thick and sticky. Cool, then refrigerate. You should be able to vary the sweetness and the spices to your taste, or add a little zing with cayenne or chipotle powder.

Update: After having this ketchup in and on turkey loaf, I’d be tempted to reduce the cinnamon and allspice, each by about half.

Waffle Woes

The success of the ketchup at least took the sting out of my morning kitchen disaster/adventure of waffle making.

I got off to a great start, mixing up a variation of the pumpkin waffles from Gluten-Free Goddess. I messed around with the flours, used flax as the egg replacer, and subbed in water and fresh-squeezed orange juice for the milk substitute. (This is what it’s come to. I’m subbing for the substitutes!)

The first two waffles were sublime. Tender inside, crisp outside, light and airy. I didn’t even get to take a photo because the boys inhaled them.

The third waffle should have been a warning to me. It pulled apart a bit in the iron, but was still whole and delicious. Then the bottom fell out.

Photo of waffles

Sad, sad waffles.

How sad is that? That’s actually the fifth and sixth waffles. The fourth was so pulled apart, with the top stuck to the top plate of the waffle iron and the bottom to the bottom plate, that it took me a good half hour to clean out all the little caked-on bits before resuming later in the day with the remainder of the batter.

The iron was oiled to within an inch of its life, and I let the waffle cook well beyond the “done” signal, so I’m not quite sure what was going on here. Any suggestions for next time?

What is EosGirl avoiding? Here’s the latest on my diet.

About eosgirl

Trying to stop worrying and love my eosinophilic gastrointestinal disease.
This entry was posted in Allergies, Case of EosGirl, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 21: The Thrill of Ketchup, the Agony of Waffles

  1. mnstegall says:

    Everytime I make gluten free waffles, they stick too!! Same sort of thing. Usually if that happens, I switch to pancakes. But yeah, not really sure why!

  2. eosgirl says:

    Well, at least it’s not just me. So sad. They were such good waffles…

Leave a Reply

