Day 27: Verdina Bean Adventure

Kids worry about their parents. It can be a little frustrating to the parent when there’s nothing really to worry about. Still, I have tried to be patient with Boy Scientist as he makes sense out of what I’m doing.

That must be part of the reason why, prior to embarking on this diet, I found myself standing in the bulk section of Whole Foods saying to him something like, “Well, I guess one good thing is that we’ll get to try a lot of these weird beans.”

There is no such thing as a throw-away line with Boy Scientist. For the last four weeks, I have been fending off questions about beans. When can we try some? Which ones should we try? What should we make first?

My responses have gotten a little testy over time, but tonight, I made good on the implicit promise. We bought some verdina beans, and I made up something to do with them.

Verdina beans are a sweet little jewels of pale green bean that I have since learned hearken from the Asturias region of Spain. The few web recipes that I could find for verdinas were all full of pork, which we do not eat, so I pretty much had to wing it.

I don’t think quantities will matter much for this “recipe” at all. In fact, I’d be inclined  to add more garlic, lemon, herbs, or maybe a touch of vinegar to up the flavor next time. Boy Scientist recommends some diced red onions. I think he’s right.

Verdina Bean Sauté/Salad

Photo of verdina bean saute

Isn’t that colorful? The beans were even greener prior to cooking.

A cup or so of verdina beans, softened and simmered in water until tender

Tablespoon or two olive oil

A bunch of baby leeks, white and green parts only, chopped (I wound up with a generous half-cup)

1 clove minced or pressed garlic

1 chopped zucchini (I really wanted to use artichoke hearts, but even the frozen ones have citric acid. Boo.)

Half-cup or so of vegetable broth

Juice of a lemon, or half a lemon, or maybe a lemon and some lime

Healthy handful of chopped herbs (I used chives, basil, and parsley. Substitute your faves.)

1 stalk diced celery

¼ cup or so sliced red cabbage

  1. In a medium pan, sauté the leeks in the olive oil until they’re soft.
  2. Add the garlic and continue cooking for another minute or so.
  3. Add the zucchini and sauté until tender.
  4. Add the beans, then the broth, and heat the whole business through for a few minutes.
  5. Mix in the lemon juice, herbs, and some salt and pepper.
  6. Add the celery and cabbage.
  7. Put in a pretty bowl and feel satisfied.
About eosgirl

Trying to stop worrying and love my eosinophilic gastrointestinal disease.
This entry was posted in Case of EosGirl, Food, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

