Day 54: Life’s Little Ironies

Photograph of mailboxes

Flickr: mattlemmon

Way back when Mr. Eos and I were just dating, we imagined a New Yorker-type cartoon: Picture a mailbox with, next to it, a couple of those little plastic boxes for your newspaper delivery. Only instead of saying “Times” or “Observer” or whatever, one of the newspaper boxes would be labeled “Life’s Little Ironies.”

Maybe it would sound funnier if I could draw.

But life is full of little ironies, isn’t it? One seems to be the crazy amount of unhealthy food I have been eating since starting this diet intended to make me healthier.

Tonight, for the first time ever, I cooked up a bag of frozen hash browns (“Ingredients: Potatoes”). Other staples now routine in the culinary repertory are potato chips (“Ingredients: Potatoes, canola oil, sea salt”) and turkey bacon.

Then there are the old stand-bys, in turbocharged quantities: fruit juice and an utterly insane amount of chocolate.

Truth is that my diet isn’t horrible. Looking back at my food log, most entries consist of things like salad, vegetable or lentil soups and stews, broiled fish, and fresh fruit. Still, it’s probably understandable to feel out of whack at this point.

The much bigger irony: That big lump in my throat as I went to swallow said hash browns and a bite of turkey meatball this evening at dinner, plus the achy feeling in my chest right now. Does it get much more ironic than sixty days of stringent adherence right down the drain?

I know there were no guarantees, but it’s hard not to feel discouraged after so much hard work. Six days to scope. Six days to savor life’s little ironies.

About eosgirl

Trying to stop worrying and love my eosinophilic gastrointestinal disease.
This entry was posted in Allergies, Case of EosGirl, Food, Reflections and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 54: Life’s Little Ironies

  1. Kelly says:

    Apologies for not getting back to sooner! I’m so sorry you’re feeling discouraged. I too have kept to a pretty restricted diet over the last year, and haven’t come out ahead of this disease. I am often more than a little frustrated!!! However, I probably feel a tiny bit better than I did before I started this crazy diet. Given the chronic nature of this illness, there will always be setbacks, but the dietary restrictions may reduce the severity and frequency of such setbacks. So, it’s not a complete wash, right? Good luck with your endoscopy. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you!

  2. eosgirl says:

    Hi, Kelly, no apologies needed. I know you’ve got a lot going on, and feeling rotten can really take it out of you, too. But you’re feeling a tiny bit better? That’s the first time I think you’ve said that, so yay! We’ll take what we can get, right? I guess I’m lucky in that the budesonide has been pretty effective for me, so I do have options, even if no miracle. On the other hand, despite feeling down the other day, I don’t regret trying–and trying hard–with the diet. It’s definitely been doing something. Thanks for the good wishes on the scope. It’s Thursday mid-day, so I’ll update once I’ve slept it off.

Leave a Reply

