The Song Is Ended..

It’s official. My appointment today with the allergist has put a formal end to the Pretty Darn Allergen Free Diet.

Not all at once, of course. The plan, once I resume budesonide next week, is to reintroduce a new food every two or three days. You know, “just in case.” The foods likeliest to cause issues come at the end. A few foods—most notably wheat—probably won’t come back at all, or at least not for a good long time.

I’m also heading to the “Pulmonary Diagnostics” unit of the hospital next week for a pulmonary function test. We’ll try to determine whether the shortness of breath that I’ve felt off and on for the last year and a half really seems to be asthma. If so, then I get to go head-to-head with environmental allergens and try not to think what this means for our first babies, the cats.

Mostly, I get the sense that there aren’t a whole lot of answers out there. I used to think of myself as just a person with eosinophilic gastroenteritis and an egg allergy. That was plenty interesting for me, thanks.

Now, I’ve transformed into an “atopic person” with eos, and possibly a bunch of other immune reactions. Impossible to say whether or not they’re all related, or whether or not they exacerbate one another, or whether they might or might not get better, or whether they might or might not get worse. Or even whether they’re all immune reactions.

After eight weeks of diet, it’s not possible even to say that any of the foods I eliminated are definitively NOT a cause of eos—only that eliminating them is not sufficient to make the eos go away. No one can say whether milk makes me feel like crud because of a true milk allergy, or because of mega-lactose-intolerance.

What a frustrating specialty!

My appointment began with an earnest fourth-year med student asking me some questions and doing a quick exam. Did he want to go into allergy/immunology? Possibly, he said, or else mabe ENT because he likes doing procedures. Dude, it doesn’t even sound like a contest.

Here, celebrate the the diet that’s ended and the symptoms still lingering on on with a listen to Ol’ Blue Eyes:

About eosgirl

Trying to stop worrying and love my eosinophilic gastrointestinal disease.
This entry was posted in Allergies, Case of EosGirl, Eosinophils and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Song Is Ended..

  1. Hang in there. It is so frustrating. We’re all frustrated with eosinophils, anyone that has to deal with them. I bet you’re super excited though to eat some foods you’ve been missing! I hope things get figured out pretty soon for you.

  2. eosgirl says:

    Thanks for the encouragement. I’m not counting on getting this figured out any time soon, but it will for sure be nice to have more foods back. It’s kind of funny, but I’m almost apprehensive about starting to eat them again! I see you had a brownie success. Congratulations! Small victories, right?

Leave a Reply

